Netherlands vs Spain 2010 FIFA World Cup Final Live Streaming

Netherlands vs Spain 2010 FIFA World Cup Final free online live Streaming
Venue: Soccer City, Johannesburg
Date: Sunday, 11 July 2010
Kick-off: 19:30 BST

Netherlands vs Spain Final Match Preview
The first World Cup on African soil will be throwing up a new World Cup winner after both Spain and Netherlands dumped out previous winners to book a place in the final on Sunday.

Tipped as favorites to lift the trophy, Spain have lived up to their expectations by qualifying to their first ever World Cup final and are clear favorites to lift the trophy in spite of scoring just seven goals in their six games.

Spain dominated possession in each of their knockout stage and are expected to follow the same tactics against a Netherlands side that will be looking to avoid falling in the same trap as the other teams.

The Dutch are the surprise qualifiers to the final, securing a brilliant 2-1 victory over Brazil in the quarter finals before beating Uruguay 3-2 in the semi finals to book a place in their first World Cup final in more than three decades.

Gregory van der Wiel should be back in action for the Dutch after missing out the semi final due to suspension while Spain are likely to name an unchanged line-up with Fernando Torres once again expected to sit on the bench.

Netherlands vs Spain Head-to-head:

- Spain and the Netherlands have never met at the World Cup or European Championship before.

- In over 90 years of competition, they have met just nine times: they have won four encounters apiece, and drawn once.

- This will be the first World Cup final that does not involve one of Brazil, Argentina, Italy or (West) Germany.

- Their most recent meeting was a 1-0 friendly win for the Dutch in Rotterdam in 2002.


- The Netherlands are playing in their third World Cup final. They lost the 1974 and 1978 finals, to hosts West Germany and Argentina respectively.

- The Dutch are bidding to become only the second team to qualify for the World Cup with a 100% record and win every match at the tournament itself (matching Brazil in 1970).

- The Netherlands have won six World Cup matches at a single tournament for the first time. This beats their previous best of five in 1974, when they lost in the final.

- Van Marwijk's side are on a 25-match unbeaten streak, a record for the Dutch. Their last defeat was in September 2008 (a 2-1 loss to Australia in Eindhoven).

- They have scored 12 goals in South Africa - only Germany have scored more (13).

- Wesley Sneijder has scored 7 goals in his last 8 internationals. He was credited with Holland's first goal against Brazil, despite Felipe Melo appearing to get the last touch.


- Spain have lost only two of their last 54 games (to USA and Switzerland). Defeat to the Swiss was a bad omen - no side has ever won the World Cup after losing their opening game.

- Italy (1994), Argentina (1990) and West Germany (1982) all reached the final despite beginning their campaign with a loss. Argentina (1978) were the last team to win the tournament despite losing a game in the group stage.

- This is the fourth time the reigning European champions have reached a World Cup final. The only side to have lifted Fifa's trophy, West Germany, beat the Dutch in the 1974 final.

- The Germans failed to double up against Italy in 1982, while the Azzurri lost to Brazil in 1970 two years after winning Euro '68. France also held both titles concurrently, though they were crowned world champions first (in 1998).

- The Spanish are through to their first ever World Cup final. They did reach the final four in 1950 under a different format, when the remaining teams played out a group stage. The Spanish finished bottom, behind winners Uruguay plus Brazil and Sweden.

- David Villa is one goal away from equalling Raul's record of 44 goals for Spain. He has already equalled the Spanish record for most goals at a single World Cup (five), set by Emilio Butragueno in 1986.

- Spain have completed 3,387 passes at the World Cup, more than any other side. The Netherlands have managed 2,434. Prior to the third-place play-off, Spain had the tournament's top four passers: Xavi (464 completed passes), Busquets (420), Alonso (399) and Pique (378).

Netherlands vs Spain FIFA World Cup 2010 Highlights

Related Posts by Categories

No comments:

back to top