Argentina World Cup 2010 team guide and Squad

After a troubled qualifying campaign, Diego Maradona's side came good in their crunch match in Uruguay, with Mario Bolatti's late goal securing the 1-0 win which ensured their place at South Africa.Argentina had only failed to qualify for a World Cup once in their history - in 1970 - but their win secured the fourth and final qualifying spot in the South America group.

How Argentina Qualified to World Cup 2010

Argentina qualified for the 2010 FIFA World Cup with a narrow 1–0 win against Uruguay in the last match of the tournament. The team finished fourth in the South American qualifying zone.

Key Players

Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona)
Probably the best football player in the world today. His playing style and ability have drawn comparisons to football legend Diego Maradona, who himself declared Messi his 'successor'. Will be his second appearance in the World Cup

Javier Mascherano (Liverpool)
Mascherano was selected as captain of the national team. He won a second Olympic gold medal with Argentina in Beijing 2008. Former Argentine footballers Jorge Valdano and Jorge Solari regard him as possibly the best central midfielder in the world.

Juan Sebastian Veron (Estudiantes de La Plata)
Veron is most famous for his vision and perceptive passing. He compensates his limited pace with his vast experience and vision. He also has a powerful long shot and set pieces. La Brujita (Little Witch), was chosen as the best player of the 2009 Copa Libertadores.

COACH: Diego Maradona



Argentina World Cup 2010 Fixtures:

Nigeria - 12 June, 3pm, Johannesburg
South Korea - 17 June, 12.30pm, Johannesburg
Greece - 22 June, 7.30pm, Polokwane

Argentina World Cup 2010 Squad

Goalkeepers: Sergio Romero (AZ Alkmaar), Mariano Andujar (Catania), Diego Pozo (Colon);

Defenders: Nicolas Burdisso (Roma), Martin Demichelis (Bayern Munich), Walter Samuel (Internazionale), Gabriel Heinze (Marseille), Nicolas Otamendi (Velez Sarsfield), Clemente Rodriguez (Estudiantes), Ariel Garce (Colon);

Midfielders: Javier Mascherano (Liverpool), Juan Sebastian Veron (Estudiantes), Maxi Rodriguez (Liverpool), Mario Bolatti (Fiorentina), Angel Di Maria (Benfica), Jonas Gutierrez (Newcastle), Javier Pastore (Palermo);

Forwards: Sergio Aguero (Atletico Madrid), Diego Milito (Internazionale), Martin Palermo (Boca Juniors), Carlos Tevez (Manchester City), Gonzalo Higuain (Real Madrid), Lionel Messi (Barcelona)

Related Posts by Categories

No comments:

back to top