India v Sri Lanka World Cup Final Full Highlights Video, Match Report, Scorecard

ICC World Cup 2011, Final: India (IND)v Sri Lanka (SL) Played at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, 2 April 2011 - day/night (50-over match) full Highlights Video, Match Report and Scores.
A captain’s knock from Mahendra Singh Dhoni saw India crowned World Cup champions for the second time in history as they beat Sri Lanka by six wickets in Mumbai on Saturday.

India vs Sri Lanka Cricket World Cup Final Match Report

Gautam Gambhir had played an unobtrusive knock, enjoying some luck as he stroked his way to 97 before succumbing to fatigue, but while Dhoni also struggled in the latter stages his mental strength saw him finish with 91 from 79 balls as he took India home with ten balls to spare, sparking wild celebrations both in the stadium and around the country.

Lasith Malinga had stunned the Wankhede crowd when he removed Virender Sehwag and hometown hero Sachin Tendulkar early on, shattering dreams that Tendulkar could score his 100th hundred in the final.

As Malinga set off on a whirling, 50-yard celebration in a hushed ground, suddenly it seemed as if destiny was not on India’s side after all, but Gambhir and Virat Kohli revived the 33,000 people inside the stadium with an 83-run partnership that put India back on track.

Tillakaratne Dilshan kept Sri Lanka in the match when he took a brilliant one-handed catch off his own bowling to dismiss Kohli, bringing an out-of-form Dhoni to the crease with the score on 114 for three and India’s required run rate climbing.

The skipper had struggled with the bat throughout the tournament but produced the goods when it mattered most, whipping anything short to the boundary as Gambhir dropped anchor at the other end.

Gambhir was bowled by Thisara Perera playing a tired shot as he fell agonisingly short of a century, bringing Yuvraj Singh to the middle with 52 runs still needed, but the man of the tournament eased fears of a late collapse when he hit his third ball to the boundary.

With the runs required and balls remaining enjoying a neck-and-neck race over the last 20 overs of the match the pressure just never eased, but Dhoni held his nerve and wrapped up the match when he smashed Thisara Perera over long-on for six.

Earlier, a superb century from Mahela Jayawardene lit up the World Cup final and threatened to take the game away from India as Sri Lanka posted 274 for six after winning a controversial toss.

Jayawardene played the perfect innings in a tense affair, starting slowly before gradually going through the gears to reach his century in just 84 balls.

He eventually finished unbeaten on 103 off 88 balls, sharing in a crucial 66-run partnership with Nuwan Kulasekara which gave Sri lanka an above-par total.

The two sides had matched each other blow for blow for more than 40 overs, but the duo turned it on during the batting powerplay, which was delayed until the final five overs, to leave Sri Lanka in the ascendancy going into the break.

They managed 63 from those five overs, with Perera finishing the innings in style when he swung Zaheer Khan over square leg for six, leaving the capacity stadium speechless.

Sri Lanka had made four changes to their side, partly in a bid to make up for the balance lost due to Angelo Mathews’ injury but also in a bid to avoid predictability against a side they’ve played regularly over the course of the last three years.

Chamara Kapugedera was picked at the expense of Chamara Silva in the middle order and his failure was the only time when India were undoubtedly ahead in the match.

Thilan Samaraweera had fallen for 21 in the previous over, and the back-to-back blows left Sri Lanka wobbling on 182 for five after 38.1 overs.

However Jayawardene’s innings kept Sri Lanka in the match and their powerful finish ensured they were visibly the happier side after they’d made a hesitant start to the match.

Zaheer’s first three overs were all maidens, and at the start of his fourth he removed Upul Tharanga to keep Sri Lanka firmly on the back foot.

Tillakaratne Dilshan (33) rebuilt the innings slowly with Kumar Sangakkara (48), taking the score to 60 before the right-hander swept a Harbhajan Singh delivery onto his stumps.

Sangakkara put on 62 with Jayawardene in what looked to be the defining partnership of the innings, but then edged the shortest, widest delivery that Yuvraj Singh had bowled to him and was caught by Dhoni.

Again Sri Lanka rebuilt to keep things level, and that calmness throughout allowed Jayawardene the platform from which he could launch an assault in the dying overs.

All five previous World Cup centurions had gone on to lift the trophy, but sadly for Jayawardene the trend was broken when Dhoni played the match-defining innings.

  • 1975: West Indies
  • 1979: West Indies
  • 1983: India
  • 1987: Australia
  • 1992: Pakistan
  • 1996: Sri Lanka
  • 1999: Australia
  • 2003: Australia
  • 2007: Australia
  • 2011: India

India vs Sri Lanka Cricket World Cup Final Scores

India won by 6 wickets (with 10 balls remaining)

Sri Lanka innings (50 overs maximum) R M B 4s 6s SR
WU Tharanga c Sehwag b Khan 2 30 20 0 0 10.00
TM Dilshan b Harbhajan Singh 33 87 49 3 0 67.34
KC Sangakkara c †Dhoni b Yuvraj Singh 48 102 67 5 0 71.64
DPMD Jayawardene not out 103 159 88 13 0 117.04
TT Samaraweera lbw b Yuvraj Singh 21 53 34 2 0 61.76
CK Kapugedera c Raina b Khan 1 6 5 0 0 20.00
KMDN Kulasekara run out (†Dhoni) 32 41 30 1 1 106.66
NLTC Perera not out 22 10 9 3 1 244.44
Extras (b 1, lb 3, w 6, nb 2) 12
Total (6 wickets; 50 overs; 246 mins) 274 (5.48 runs per over)
Did not bat SL Malinga,

S Randiv,
M Muralitharan

Fall of wickets1-17 (Tharanga, 6.1 ov), 2-60 (Dilshan, 16.3 ov), 3-122 (Sangakkara, 27.5 ov), 4-179 (Samaraweera, 38.1 ov), 5-182 (Kapugedera, 39.5 ov), 6-248 (Kulasekara, 47.6 ov)

Bowling O M R W Econ
Z Khan 10 3 60 2 6.00 (1w)
S Sreesanth 8 0 52 0 6.50 (2nb)
MM Patel 9 0 41 0 4.55 (1w)
Harbhajan Singh 10 0 50 1 5.00 (1w)
Yuvraj Singh 10 0 49 2 4.90
SR Tendulkar 2 0 12 0 6.00 (3w)
V Kohli 1 0 6 0 6.00
India innings (target: 275 runs from 50 overs) R M B 4s 6s SR
V Sehwag lbw b Malinga 0 2 2 0 0 0.00
SR Tendulkar c †Sangakkara b Malinga 18 21 14 2 0 128.57
G Gambhir b Perera 97 187 122 9 0 79.50
V Kohli c & b Dilshan 35 69 49 4 0 71.42
MS Dhoni not out 91 128 79 8 2 115.18
Yuvraj Singh not out 21 39 24 2 0 87.50
Extras (b 1, lb 6, w 8) 15
Total (4 wickets; 48.2 overs; 230 mins) 277 (5.73 runs per over)
Did not bat SK Raina,

Harbhajan Singh,
Z Khan,
MM Patel,
S Sreesanth

Fall of wickets1-0 (Sehwag, 0.2 ov), 2-31 (Tendulkar, 6.1 ov), 3-114 (Kohli, 21.4 ov), 4-223 (Gambhir, 41.2 ov)
Bowling O M R W Econ
SL Malinga 9 0 42 2 4.66 (2w)
KMDN Kulasekara 8.2 0 64 0 7.68
NLTC Perera 9 0 55 1 6.11 (2w)
S Randiv 9 0 43 0 4.77
TM Dilshan 5 0 27 1 5.40 (1w)
M Muralitharan 8 0 39 0 4.87 (1w)

Toss Sri Lanka, who chose to bat
Series India won the 2010/11 ICC Cricket World Cup
Player of the match MS Dhoni (India)
Player of the series Yuvraj Singh (India)

India vs Sri Lanka Cricket World Cup Final Highlight Video
1 || 2 || 3 || 4 || 5 || 6 || 7 || 8 || 9 || 10 || 11 || 12

Related Posts by Categories

No comments:

back to top