Sri Lanka v Australia Indies ICC World Cup full Highlights Video, Match Report, Scorecard

ICC World Cup 2011, 20th Match, Group A: Sri Lanka v Australia Played at R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo 5th March 2011 (D/N) full Highlights Video, Match Report and Scorecard.
Sri Lanka and Australia had to settle for a point each in Colombo after heavy rain forced the abandonment of their keenly-contested Group A match.

Sri Lanka v Australia ICC World Cup Match Report
An absorbing match between two of the group’s fancied teams was intriguingly poised thanks to Kumar Sangakkara’s unbeaten 73, but the dark skies opened and no further play was possible once the players had come off.

Rain scuppers Sangakkara and Sri Lanka
Australia’s pace-heavy attack had made early inroads into the Sri Lankan line-up after the hosts had won the toss and elected to bat, with Tillakaratne Dilshan caught at slip off the bowling of Shaun tait just minutes after batsman and bowler were separated by an umpire following a verbal altercation.

Fellow opener Upul Tharanga was next to go, well caught at backward point by Steven Smith. The Australian all-rounder made further impact in the field when he ran out Mahela Jayawardene (23) with a direct hit to end the crucial partnership between Jayawardene and Sangakkara.

However the Sri Lankan captain was joined by Thilan Samaraweera, and the duo had added 71 for the fourth wicket on a tricky pitch by the time the heavens opened.

With the match called off the sides took away one point each, leaving both sides one five points with Sri Lanka having played a game more than Australia.

Sri Lanka v Australia ICC World Cup Scorecard

Sri Lanka 146-3 Australia (32.5 overs) MATCH ABANDONED - NO RESULT
Sri Lanka innings (50 overs maximum) R M B 4s 6s SR
WU Tharanga c Smith b Lee 6 32 18 0 0 33.33
TM Dilshan c White b Tait 4 7 4 1 0 100.00
KC Sangakkara*† not out 73 147 102 7 0 71.56
DPMD Jayawardene run out (Smith) 23 47 25 3 0 92.00
TT Samaraweera not out 34 74 48 2 0 70.83
Extras (lb 1, w 5) 6
Total (3 wickets; 32.5 overs; 155 mins) 146 (4.44 runs per over)
Did not bat LPC Silva,

AD Mathews,
HMRKB Herath,
SL Malinga,
M Muralitharan,
BAW Mendis

Fall of wickets1-6 (Dilshan, 1.4 ov), 2-31 (Tharanga, 6.4 ov), 3-75 (Jayawardene, 15.2 ov)
Bowling O M R W Econ
B Lee 5 0 27 1 5.40 (2w)
SW Tait 5 0 23 1 4.60
SR Watson 7 0 29 0 4.14
MG Johnson 4 0 15 0 3.75 (2w)
JJ Krejza 7.5 0 34 0 4.34 (1w)
SPD Smith 4 0 17 0 4.25
Australia team
SR Watson,

BJ Haddin†,
RT Ponting*,
MJ Clarke,
DJ Hussey,
CL White,
SPD Smith,
MG Johnson,
JJ Krejza,

B Lee,
SW Tait
Toss Sri Lanka, who chose to bat
Points Sri Lanka 1, Australia 1

Sri Lanka v Australia ICC WC Cricket Highlight Video
Part 1| Part 2| Part 3

Related Posts by Categories

No comments:

back to top